Vitamin B12 + Multivitamin Gummy Bears

Vitamin B12 + Multivitamin Gummy Bears, a Chewable Gelatin-Free Supplement for Vegetarians, Includes Vitamins A, C, D, E, Zinc and B-Complex – B5, B6 & B9 – By Nutrabear
 

 
 
 
What is Vitamin B12 and why do I need it?
 
Vitamin B12 is a nutrient that helps keep the body’s nerve and blood cells healthy and helps make DNA.  Vitamin B12 also helps prevent a type of anemia called megaloblastic anemia that makes people tired and weak.
 
Many people who are either vegan or vegetarian take a B12 supplement since they lack the foods that contain B12 in there diets. 
 
 


How much vitamin B12 do I need?

The chart I added below shows the recommended dosing according to the  NIH.
 
The amount of vitamin B12 you need each day depends on your age. Average daily recommended amounts for different ages are listed below in micrograms (mcg):
 
 
Life Stage Recommended Amount
Birth to 6 months 0.4 mcg
Infants 7–12 months 0.5 mcg
Children 1–3 years 0.9 mcg
Children 4–8 years 1.2 mcg
Children 9–13 years 1.8 mcg
Teens 14–18 years 2.4 mcg
Adults 2.4 mcg


 
 
Here is the label off my bottle of NutraBear B12 + bottle
 
 
 
 
 

Finding B12 vitamin in gummy form was exciting, my regular B12 suppliment that I take is in pill form…and it’s not easy to swallow.  I was asked my NutraBear to try out there B12 + Multivitamin Gummy bears in exchange for my honest opinion….
 
Shipping Review:
 
The package arrived quickly and in excellent condition via Amazon. 
 
 
 
My Review of the Product:
I take vitamin B12 daily and this was actually my first time getting to try them in “gummy Bear” form. I did receive a sample in exchange for my honest opinion.

When I first ordered the gummy bears, the customer images showed the bears in bright colors and they looked really good. After my package came, I was worried that maybe I got the wrong item. As you can see from my images below, my Gummy bears were different shades of an orange/brown color. Also they are not gummy; more of a really sticky chewy candy. I also noted that the bears range in size a bit and that concerns me some; am I getting the right amount in each one? . I am not sure if it is because some of them are a bit smashed due to there lack of gummy stability… These are gelatin free, but I have had gelatin free gummy bears candy before and they are firm just like regular gummy bears.

After trying one, I struggled to get the gummy out of my teeth, they are so sticky and fully of gritty UN dissolved sugar! The bear I have shown in the image, I smashed with my finger to show the sticky texture. The flavor was ok, I really couldn’t tell the flavor difference from one bear to the other.  The first 2 ingredients in this product are corn syrup and sugar.



*The description says great for children, but the bottle has a caution about giving to children under 18. Even more confusing the supplement nutrition facts for % daily value are shown for ages 2-3 years on one side and 4+ on the other. Nothing about adults. How can a 4 year old’s daily intake be compared to that an adult? Directions say 3 “gummy Bears” a day; that means 2 year old’s and adults take the same amount? Please also note that this supplement doesn’t just contain vitamin B12 you are getting a lot of other added vitamins also. Please just remember to use caution and seek advice from a professional before taking any supplements or giving them to children especially when the labeling is unclear.

 
Since reviewing the product, I have talked with the company and they did make some changes…They had a profession photographer come in and update there photos to better represent the product.  Also they are working on making the product better and addressing some of the concerns from me as well as other consumers.  I can’t wait to see the turn around they are planning to make.  I do plan to update my review as they make those changes.  Please do remember this is just “my” personal opinion of the product…
 
 
 
 

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Leave a comment